Knit handmade cotton rainbow stripe baby blanket

Rainbow Baby Blanket

Pattern:  Midsummer Baby Blanket, by Pickles
Yarn:   Schachenmayr Catania Grande in colours 3261, 3205, 3282, 3105, 3114, 3115, 3281, 3249, 3392
Needles:  7mm circular

My second blanket knit from this pattern, this time in a rainbow of colours for my own summer-born baby who arrived at the end of May.

Construction Notes:

After finding 99 stitches gave a blanket that was still slightly too narrow last time, I began this version with a long tail cast on for 109 stitches.

It took 3 months to complete in my (limited!) spare time, with a month to spare before our second baby boy was born. The finished blanket is about 36 inches by 30 inches, but very stretchy.

Again the pattern worked up quickly and easily, in a very pleasing and easy to memorise repetition of four rows. I worked the pattern seven times in each of the eight colourways I’d chosen.

I found the yarn a little splitty and was disappointed to come across a few knotted joins in some balls, while I used a Russian join to splice adjacent balls of the background cream yarn together without leaving knots all over the blanket!

The finished blanket is delightfully springy and soft, with a decent heft – it weighs in at just over 500g. I’m really pleased with it, and both my boys seem to love it too!

Click on any image to enlarge.
Comment on this

