Felt flock hand knitted and felted sheep toy complete

Sheep

Pattern:  A Felt Flock, by Bev Galeskas for FiberTrends
Yarn:  Garnstudio Drops Eskimo
Needles:  9mm

This is the second sheep I have made from this pattern since purchasing it several years ago, and just as quick and enjoyable to make as I remember the first to be. This little one has now been parcelled up and packed off for a little girl’s birthday, where I hope it brings lots of joy and woolly cuddles.

Construction Notes:

The knitting was quick, and the pattern enjoyable to follow. The fleece is worked in two main pieces, with some picking-up for the contrast coloured sections,.and short-row shaping creating the main elegantly curved two-dimensional piece. Seaming is thankfully quite minimal; always a bonus when knitting toys. Upon completion of the knitting, I basted the remaining un-seamed gap with cotton thread and felted the piece in the washing machine before removing the cotton thread to open the sheep for stuffing.

I am always impressed by the difference that felting can make – even unstuffed and still wet, the fibres had shrunk to create a robust three-dimensional figure capable of standing alone. Once dry, I added safety eyes (with the aid of my other half) and stuffed and sewed up the toy.

Our own little one was very reluctant to let this out of his sight: I suspect I will be revisiting this pattern once more in a year or two!

Click on any of the images for a slideshow.

