Mini Quilt in Gold And Grey

Pattern My own
Fabric Front: Cloud 9 Bark and Branch fabrics by Elouise Renouf in gold and blackReverse: Riley Blake wideback dots in grey

Binding: Black and white cotton

Notions Batting: Warm and Natural needled cotton batting

This is one of several projects that I completed over the summer without writing up at the time; hopefully I shall catch up with the backlog in the next few weeks! 

A few months ago, I planned and completed a log-cabin variation for a new mini quilt for the lounge, to protect the sofa from furry cats, using a mix of fabrics in gold, black and white. I soon realised a flaw in my design during the piecing, which was too symmetrical to piece easily, but worked around that by altering some of the strips slightly, to produce the design I had anticipated.

I backed the quilt with a square of dotty cotton, and decided to use a pattern of diagonal quilting, perpendicular for each sub-triangle. I used a grey thread for the quilting, but on completion the lines seem very dark on the top side, almost black, and if I were to do this quilt again I would use a much paler thread. I’m not entirely happy with the pattern of the quilting lines either, and would probably use a different pattern next time. Not one of my favourite pieces of work, but it has taught me some useful lessons – and the cat doesn’t seem to mind its flaws.

Click on any of the images for a slideshow…

