Umaro baby blanket hanging over cot

Umaro Blanket

Pattern:  Umaro Blanket, by Jared Flood (Brooklyn Tweed)
Yarn:  Garnstudio Drops Eskimo
Needles:  10mm circular

This blanket had been on my to-do list for a while; the very weekend I found out that we were expecting our first baby, I cast on and worked the first dozen or so rows, before a nervous superstition drove me to tuck it away. Once we were safely past the first trimester, I picked it back up again, working on it whenever I found the time and energy (both often in short supply!). This weekend I completed the blanket with almost three months still to go before our due date: knit in snuggly, chunky wool, it has been rather warm working on this lately, but it should be ideal to keep our baby snug and warm this coming winter.

Construction Notes:

I used the long-tail cast on (a fairly recent introduction to me, and my second usage) to create 79 stitches, adjusting the pattern down for more of a baby-sized blanket than the size written. I then worked four and a half repeats of the chart to make a finished blanket about 45 inches long and 35 inches wide. The yarn is delightfully soft and lofty, though with a slight tendency to shed fibres that I hope will abate with washing. I enjoyed the pattern; the combination of lace and cables sufficiently challenging to keep my interest without any frustration, and am thrilled with the final blanket. Its geometry appeals to me, with diamonds and borders of moss stitch regulated with crossing cables, creating a warm, soft texture.

