Eyelet header on homemade curtains

Eyelet Curtains

Pattern My own
Fabric Main: Washable cotton/linen mix from John LewisLining: Washable blackout lining fabric
Notions Eyelet tape

A few winters ago, we bought this fabric to make floor-length curtains for our kitchen, to replace a pair of dark blue curtains that we borrowed. I ordered lining fabric and eyelet tape, prewashed both sets of fabric … and then it sat folded neatly in a bedroom for a couple of years.

Finally, over the course of a couple of weekends, I motivated myself to get cutting and sewing, blind-hemming the last curtain panel this weekend. What a difference they make: the kitchen feels much brighter with the lighter fabric, and I’m rather fond of the fish.

I find it a challenge working with such big pieces of fabric, and pattern-matching and cutting out on such a large scale are far from my favourite things, but the results are worth it. Now I have ‘just’ two more pairs of curtains and a roman blind left to make for our house… when time allows!

Click on any image to see larger size…

