Fetching Mitts

Pattern:  Fetching 
Yarn:  Debbie Bliss Soho Red Mix (37510) 100% wool
Needles:  4.5mm dpns and cable needle

My first completed project of the year, these fingerless mitts have been a quick and gratifying distraction from a much bigger project that I cast on at the turn of the year.

Construction Notes

I picked up two skeins of this wool a few years ago, with this pattern in mind. Looking for a quick and interesting project to work on alongside another bigger project for a change of pace, I finally cast on a few weeks ago. I followed the pattern as given, using slightly smaller needles than suggested for this wool, as recommended by the pattern to give a more densely woven fabric. In hindsight, I should perhaps have downsized my needles even further as the finished mitts are a little loose.

I enjoyed working with the yarn, which fluctuates in thickness and colour, although this does make it a little less suitable for a cable project like this, as the pattern is slightly swamped by these variations. However, I am relatively pleased with the results, despite being a little loose on my hands. The cables do hug the mitts slightly to my wrists and knuckles, and they are warm without obstructing my fingers: perfect for hopping out into the garden on a cold day with the camera.

