Summer baby blanket

Neapolitan Blanket

Pattern:  Midsummer Baby Blanket, by Pickles
Yarn:  Rowan Purelife Organic Cotton DK( 992 Chlorophyll, Natural 986, Brazilwood 982, Yellowwood 984)
Needles:  7mm circular

I recently completed this blanket for my god-daughter’s new baby sister. As a summer baby, I wanted to make her something light in cotton, that would still give comfort and warmth through autumn and into winter.

Construction Notes:

I followed the suggestion of others who have made this blanket, from reviews found online, and cast on more stitches than given – 99 stitches – to make the blanket wider than in the pattern. I completed nineteen stripes of each colour (each stripe comprising four rows of an eight-row pattern). It was a satisfying knit, growing relatively fast, and the slip-stitches give a lovely effect. The colours I chose remind me somehow of three-colour ice cream blocks from childhood, although not strictly the flavours/colours which make up Neapolitan ice cream (which would feature chocolate in brown instead of the green).

The stitches give a lovely lofty fabric, with quite a bit of stretch, and I like the way the colours come through on both the front and reverse. It is still slightly on the narrow side, and perhaps if I were to make a blanket in this style again I would increase the width still further, but generally I am pleased with the result.

